Competition Results

Thanks to all the students who worked so hard and submitted an essay, and thanks also to the teachers and schools who supported them. We enjoyed reading every one of the essays, and we learned a lot about women in STEM! Every entrant was sent a certificate (via their submitting teacher) to commend them for their participation.

The essays were judged by a panel of four people (a writer, a psychologist with an interest in the history of women scientists, a former secondary school science teacher, and a female scientist).

The essays were judged ′blindly′, that is, the judges had no knowledge of who wrote the essays or what schools they represented. Reaching a decision was difficult…but here are the final results:

  • First runner-up, writing about Anne McLaren, and representing Putney High School is Rhona Michie. She received a cheque for £500.

  • Second runner-up, also winning £500, representing Acland Burghley School is Emma Eastcott, who wrote about Jane Goodhall.

First prize

Writing about Nancy Wexler, the winner of the 2009 Rosalind Franklin Essay Competition, representing Harrow School, is Daniel Hallstrom. He received a plaque and a cheque for £1000, as well as a £3000 bursary for educational equipment for his school.

Well Done to Everyone
Back to main page